Skip to content

STOP DROP ROBOT: MURDER THE DRUMS ft JOE GREEN

August 28, 2014

STOP DROP ROBOT – SHEFFIELD, UK

Stop Drop Robot, aka SDR, is an electronic rock band, that hail from Sheffield, UK.

Photo courtesy of Lady Corvid G: http://www.twitter.com/CorvidLadyG
Lady Corvid G and Drummer Dan, at Stop Drop Robot’s wicked set at the opening night, of Players Bar, Wakefield, UK, on August 15th 2014. http://www.twitter.com/PlayersWakey

STOP DROP ROBOT – MURDER THE DRUMS ft JOE GREEN

Stop Drop Robot, aka SDR, is an electronic rock band, that hails from Sheffield, UK.

I asked frontman, Sam Christie, a few questions about the band and the song, Murder The Drums ft Joe Green.

Here is what, Sam, had to say!

Q1.
@hurdygurdygurl:
These lyrics are a mouthful. How do you keep the beat, when singing on stage?

@stopdroprobot:
I’ve been singing for a long time, so had a lot of practise. Dan, our drummer, is very reliable and makes it easy, for the rest of us, to stay in time.

Q2.
@hurdygurdygurl:
I noticed that Dan, can sure play drums! I have always, had a love for percussion.

Sam, what instrument do you like to play, other than voice?

@stopdroprobot:
Bass guitar is great fun and easy to play. If I wasn’t a singer, I’d be a bassist, they have an easy job.

@hurdygurdygurl:
Ha! Yeah, bass is def cool! Sure I can quote that, without ruffling feathers?!

@stopdroprobot:
Yeah lol

Q3.
@hurdygurdygurl:
I like Matt’s strong stage presence, what do you enjoy most, about Matt, on stage?

@stopdroprobot:
Matt brings the noise, we love him.

Q4.
@hurdygurdygurl:
Yeah, Matt is a good guy!

And super Nathan?
I love Nathan’s voice and how I hear Ringo, when he speaks. Or am I imagining things?

@stopdroprobot:
Haha maybe 😀 they are both drone, the north of England.

Q5.
@hurdygurdygurl:
Hmmm. I love it.
I like your voice a lot.

What do you remedy your throat with, on the night you sing?

@stopdroprobot:
I like to drink cider, lager, Jägermeister and plenty of water.

Q6.
@hurdygurdygurl:
Thirsty, I bet!

What Sheffield music legacy, have you recently, embraced?

@stopdroprobot:
Sheffield is a great place. A lot of great bands have come before us and we hope to add to our city’s electronic sound and advance it further, so it sounds modern and exciting.

Q7.
@hurdygurdygurl:
So good, so far!

What is the up-coming gig, you mentioned, with other local bands?

@stopdroprobot:
Top secret :p 😀

Q8.
@hurdygurdygurl:
C’mon man! Top Secret, does sound like it could be, an awesome event name!

If I had a band, I would name it, Free Sex. How did you, come up with your band name?

What exactly, is a Stop Drop Robot?

@stopdroprobot:
You would have to ask Nathan lol he came up with our name. 😀

@hurdygurdygurl:
Will do.

Thank you, Sam, for being available, to chat about the band.

Murder The Drum’s ft Joe Green is Lady Corvid G’s favourite SDR song, with her encouragement and Sam’s help, I nailed the lyrics.

Here they are! Enjoy.

Murder The Drums ft Joe Green lyrics by Stop Drop Robot

Can the drummer get some
Ladies and Gentlemen
Give it up 4x

Well, these 4 walls are closing in
Yeah and it’s been that way
Ever since time began

What do they want from me
What have I done to them

All they left me withs a fractured imagination
See the crowds take a shot at me

Cus when I murder the drums
It feels
Like I am second to none

It heals
All my open scars
hammer a nail
into the coffin marked your preconceptions
See the stars realign for me

You know it’s funny
Oh how we laugh

when I hold the drumsticks in my hand

I decide my own destiny
I decide where the beat needs to be
I decide not them

well out there there’s all these blood suckers trying to run it

don’t it just make you sick to your stomach

I’ll show the puppeteers where to shove it
on the day they crown me king

Thank you, Stop Drop Robot, for permission, to post these lyrics.

BREAKING NEWS:

Stop Drop Robot, have just announced, an online publicity stunt:

Starting at 12PM BST on Saturday, 30th of August 2014; SDR will have 24 hours to write, record, produce and promote, the release of a brand new single.

In addition, the band will also be filming, editing and uploading a music video.

Expect video updates, throughout the day, as we invite you, to spend 24 hours with Stop Drop Robot. #‎SDR24‬

Give the band, Stop Drop Robot, a shoutout this week, using the hashtag, #SDR24.

Join the fun, online at: http://www.stopdroprobot.com. Meet the band and other SDR fans, all day and night long, on Saturday, August 30th, 2014.

SDR would love, to get to know you and you will become fast friends and fans!

Stop Drop Robot:
Sam Christie – vocals
Nathan Bailey – bass
Matt Ross – guitar
Daniel Battye – drums

SDR BANDCAMP http://stopdroprobot.bandcamp.com/

SDR FB http://www.facebook.com/stopdroprobot1

SDR GOOGLE https://plus.google.com/103135545660833943740

SDR SOUNDCLOUD http://www.soundcloud.com/stopdroprobot

SDR TWITTER http://www.twitter.com/stopdroprobot

SDR WEBPAGE http://www.stopdroprobot.com

SDR YOUTUBE http://www.youtube.com/stopdroprobot

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment