Skip to content

When Freedom Is Too Much, a poem by Drem about living with addiction

February 22, 2016

Still not drunk enough.
Never will be.
It never ends.

Monday’s are hard.
Always will be.
Tomorrow is a new day.

‘When Freedom Is Too Much’, a poem by Drem, about living with addiction.

I love the words and art of Drem. It gives me hope for another day, through all the pain, numbness and despair.

Drem

Below is an attempt to illustrate the life of an addict who goes in and out of rehab and on and off the streets.

When Freedom Is Too Much, a poem by Drem
Written Feb. 7 2016

“This whole world is spinning

and I think I’m going to puke.

They’ll be forced

to stop this ride

of my life

to clean it up.

Then I’ll sneak off

and go get high

on the peach oval pills.

Count 1, 2, 3, 4 of them.

And visit the strip mall.

Buy lingerie

to entertain

some useless boy

who I hate

but calls me his.

Ain’t that a sweet thing to say

about me?

To be owned by somebody.

So I keep him around.

Three shots of espresso,

mouthwash, later

on to the next one.

And so I begin

on the routine again.

But I don’t want to get to know him

View original post 299 more words

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

