Skip to content

In Preparation for NaNoWriMo

November 2, 2014

A terrific daily challenge for writing this November!

interruptingcow

Here’s what you can expect from the interruptingcow blog in November.  No more “reblogs” this month.  You’ll find quick reads each day by virtue of my daily writing regimen for the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).  That means that each day I will post the best sentence or small passage from the previous day’s word count.  It also means some of it won’t make much sense because you won’t necessarily be getting it in chronological or even contextual form.  Since first drafts are hideous, I’m sure there were be various forms of disclaimers scattered throughout the month, but I will try to refrain.

Each day’s post will not necessarily relate to one another.  I will simply select what I believe is the best structured or lyrical offering for your reading pleasure.  That’s it.  So you’ll still have to buy the book to get the real storyline sometime in 2016 perhaps. …

View original post 681 more words

From → WRITER'S WRITE

4 Comments
  1. Hey – Thanks! I don’t spend as much time on the blog and social media during November so it’s nice to finish a brutal day of writing and find a nice compliment in the form of a reblog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey interruptingcow, I thought you might need a moral boost, as you start your November journey. I hope you are having as much fun writing, as I am reading your works.

      I just spent over 10 years, working on my poem, My Primal Wound: Mount St. Helens Muse. It is almost done. I worked on it ferociously, then left it and almost lost it, until I found it on LiveJournal and reposted it here on WordPress. If I had even thought, I would toil and sweat over commas, words, and rhythm, for days on end, I may never have started to put pen on paper!

      But, I did and I do. Someone told me that a poem is dynamic and it may never truly finished or completed. Stories are alive. They change and grow. I want my poem carved into a rock and never touched again. But, here I am worrying about the look of it, the sound of it and grieve over stupid punctuation, which I never seem to get quite right. Mostly, I agonize over commas.

      I just hope this November, you will find your rhythm and continue to grow in patience and wisdom, because your stories are readable and pleasureable. And you are worth, every word you write in agony. So, if a story doesn’t seem done, then it probably isn’t, and may never be. But, it doesn’t mean it isn’t good enough to read. In ten years time, you will be on to new writings and may come back and edit something from years ago, and suddenly, it will be just right and ready to carve in stone!

      Take care. And yes, a writer writes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

